Aside

Ramadan Series: Day 10

We are now one third of the way through Ramadan – every year I am surprised by how fast it goes. Tomorrow morning will mark the beginning of the tenth fast of the month.

To recap, on Day 1, I talked about the practicalities of fasting – please do read that if you haven’t already. Today, we will visit the spiritual aspects of the month, and the kinds of goals Muslims set themselves ahead of Ramadan.

So far, this month has been more difficult for me than in previous years. I decided to fast despite nursing a one-year-old, simply because he is now old enough that I don’t need to worry so much about nutrition and milk supply. I knew it was going to be hard on me though – thirst and hunger are amplified every time I feed him. As a result, I have missed three of the fasts up to this point, but am pleased to have at least managed the majority. My spiritual goals, however, have required a little readjustment to make them realistic.

Reasons for Fasting

When asked why Muslims fast during Ramadan, the answer given is sometimes very simple: because Allah commands me to. This is, of course, true – fasting is one of the Five Pillars of Islam, mandatory for every healthy, adult Muslim. But, if we dig a little deeper, we can find the significance and wisdom behind this obligation.

Ramadan is a month of connection and focus; a mindfulness brought about by abstinence from food and drink. For most, fasting is a very personal experience – it is the only act of worship which can be carried out wholly in private, such that only Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) knows whether you have truly completed it or not.

The experience is also unique to each individual – how one person understands the benefits of fasting may be entirely different from another. As a result, I can only name the most commonly cited reasons, but if you speak to others, they may be able to add to this list:

  • Seeking a closer relationship with God
  • Increased consciousness of God during daily business
  • Empathy for those less fortunate than ourselves
  • Appreciation of the blessings we have
  • A focus on the purpose and meaning of the worldly life
  • Detox of the body and mind

For me, fasting is about heightening my awareness of Allah as I go about my day. When I am fasting, I am more conscious of my conduct, my regularity in prayer, and my relationship with the Qur’an. I know there is little point in feeling hungry and thirsty for the sake of it – additional actions apply real meaning to my fast.

When I first became Muslim, I thought fasting was merely about walking in the shoes of those in poverty. There certainly is an element of this, supported by extra charitable giving in Ramadan – but, looking back, I think I just found this reason easier to explain to others. Over the years, I have really come to understand, and love, the broader, spiritual aspects of fasting.

Spiritual Goals

As with anything in life, planning ahead is the best way to make the most of the available time. When you go on holiday, you probably research all the things you want to do while you are there – sightseeing, day trips and evening shows. Preparing for Ramadan follows the same principle. This month comes only once a year, and not one of us knows if we will see the next. So we embrace it while we have the chance, and strive to do the very best we can. In return for our efforts, the rewards for worship and good deeds are multiplied.

Taraweeh

Performing Taraweeh is the first goal most Muslims set themselves during Ramadan. These are the voluntary night prayers in Ramadan, offered after Isha, the fifth and final of the formal daily prayers. For men, Taraweeh is performed in a mosque behind an imam, while women can pray in the home if this is easier for them. Taraweeh is read in units of two, with a minimum of eight in total, as per the tradition of Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him). In the mosque, the imam will read larger passages from the Qur’an during these prayers, but the length will differ. Generally, eight units will last for a minimum of 15 minutes, and breaks are usually taken between each two.

In previous years, I have read Taraweeh at home every night during Ramadan, but this has been more difficult recently. The late timings, draining fasts and looking after a toddler, have made it a real challenge for me this year. I am disappointed in myself, but I constantly ask God to help me do better. The end of every fast marks the start of a new day, and a fresh start.

Reading the Qur’an

The second goal often set during Ramadan, is to read the Qur’an through once, cover to cover. Ideally, ‘reading’ the Qur’an means reciting it aloud in Arabic – this reaps the most rewards. However, if one is unable to do this, reading translations and listening to recordings of the Arabic recitation, are also beneficial.

This Ramadan, I began the practice of listening to the Arabic recitation AND following the English translation in my Qur’an, at the same time. Before this month, I have always done one or the other. Listening and reading in parallel has brought so much more power and beauty to the words on the page, and the unfamiliar language in the recording. Unfortunately, I am not on track to complete the whole Qur’an this month, despite doing so in previous years, but I am grateful to have found a more meaningful way to study this Noble Book, little and often.

Other Goals

Besides these two common goals, Muslims may set very personal targets on an individual basis. The nature of these will vary, from becoming more regular in prayer and memorising additional Qur’anic verses, to wearing a headscarf and studying Arabic. The possibilities are endless if you put your mind to it. The important thing is not to compare oneself with other people – the only example we should take inspiration from, is that of Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) and his Companions (may Allah be pleased with them).

In my case, I have managed to incorporate some small changes in to my routine, which have made a difference. Firstly, increasing my remembrance of Allah wherever I am; standing at the kitchen sink, waiting at the traffic lights or stooped over the ironing board – all are opportunities for words of thanks. Secondly, listening to Islamic podcasts for half an hour before I sleep. This is the time of night where I am too tired to concentrate on a book or look at a screen but, with a podcast, I can put in my earphones, lie back and close my eyes, absorbing useful knowledge in those last few minutes of the day.

Finally, though I am not currently able to do as much as I would like, I take comfort from the fact that mothers are rewarded greatly for their dedication and selflessness in raising children. When I am lying beside my son in the dark, feeding him for the ninth time that night, unable to drink enough water before the fast begins, I am reminded this is an act of worship in itself, and that Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) knows my intentions.

Next Time

On Day 20, I will move on to the importance of the last third of Ramadan, the period during which the Qur’an was first revealed, in the year 610.

5 thoughts on “Ramadan Series: Day 10

  1. Steph says:

    Really interesting post Emma! I love that it is a real time of reflection and time to focus on yourself as well. With regards to the Taraweeh, can women and children visit the mosque for this as well? When you say it’s voluntary, why would some decide to practice this and others not? Thank you! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, women and children can absolutely visit the mosque for Taraweeh as well. It’s just not as common because of the challenges of having young children and managing bedtimes etc. Bear in mind, Taraweeh this year is around 10.45 here, so very late! It is voluntary, but it is a practice established by the Prophet (peace be upon him) who we try to emulate, so it’s preferred to perform it if possible. Ramadan is a time to go the extra mile, so there will be no sin if someone doesn’t perform Taraweeh, but it would be better for them if they do. Acts of worship performed during the hours of darkness earn us greater rewards, simply because they are harder for us to do.

      Like

  2. MashaAllah you keep trying even though it seems like a tough one this year. My cousin said she found her first Ramadan after having a baby tough, MashaAllah there’s sooo much reward in being a mother. You might not be ticking the boxes of the goals you wanted to achieve, but Allah SWR records your efforts with weight, more weight than those who find it easy. Experiencing motherhood is surely a wonderful connection to Allah SWT in trying to understand his love for us.

    I pray it gets easier you too x

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment